Reformed Dogmatics

I teach two courses covering the whole gamut of systematic theology, from God to Eschatology. Naturally then, I need resources to  keep me fresh on the subjects. Here’s a recently released systematic theology from the Dutch Reformed tradition that I plan to work through for years to come. It’s also getting great reviews. Here are just a few:

“This should be on the bookshelf of every pastor and student who wants to read Reformed theology at its best.”
– Carl R. Trueman, Westminster Theological Seminary, Philadelphia

” . . . a wellspring of the best that our confession has to offer . . .”
– Michael Scott Horton, Westminster Seminary, California

 This is not what you think!

…it is NOT a dry, impenetrable, scholastic tome.

It IS:
• a strikingly clear and readable systematic theology
• built on the Dutch Reformed tradition of Calvin and Bavinck
• up-to-date; interacts with contemporary theological issues

Also, in the summer, I’m teaching an Old Testament survey course. I plan on using Peter Leithart’s A House for My Name. I thought about using Stephen Dempster’s Dominion and Dynasty: A Theology of the Hebrew Bible , but I thought it might be too academic and off-putting for the beginner.

Posted on July 14, 2009, in Book Reviews/Recommendations. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow…an endorsement by Michael Horton….I am running to get it…running…

Leave a Reply

