Spiritual Realignment

Earlier today, I went to the chiropractor. Apparently my hips are slightly out of alignment and it’s been causing me problem in my left knee. The chiropractor told me a number of interesting things, but the concept of periodic realignment is what stuck the most. The everyday wear-and-tear of our bodies (ergonomics, it’s called) causes a build up tension in joints, and every so often it needs to be released. It’s the same principle behind cracking your knuckles (which, the chiropractor told me, is not harmful, despite popular opinion). That pop or snap is the pressure being released.

So, here’s what came to mind. In our relationship to God through Christ, every so often we need spiritual realignment. Let’s listen to Jesus in John 13:

Peter said to him, “You shall never wash my feet.” Jesus answered him, “If I do not wash you, you have no share with me.” Simon Peter said to him, “Lord, not my feet only but also my hands and my head!” Jesus said to him, “The one who has bathed does not need to wash, except for his feet, but is completely clean.

Peter objects to Christ washing his feet, but Jesus knows better. When united to Christ through His perfectly atoning work, we are washed cleaned. We are imputed the righteousness of Christ and are seen be God as “in Christ.” But, much like the eventual build up of pressure in our knuckles, spine, hips, etc., there come times when we need realignment. We need to hear the gospel afresh, to remember that we still struggle with sin in this fallen world, and we must turn to Christ, and seek his forgiveness.

That’s something my soul needs to hear.

As we grow in sanctification, our compromises with unbelief will bother us to a greater and greater degree. We’ll know it’s time for a “cleansing.” I know this all too well. Lately, I’ve been dying to buy a smart phone (like an iphone), and I’ve previously mentioned my near idolatrous love of pugs. I have to tell myself that my happiness isn’t dependent on the things I own. I’m not less of a person, less precious a child of God, because I own a “plain” cel phone. In fact, I’m blessed simply in the fact that I have one at all! The American culture of consumerism has affected me. And when it’s to the point where the Spirit nudges me and says, “Hello! Wake up!” That’s when I need the gospel, I need Christ.

When you wander away and are lured by the temptations of the world, first, do you recognize that you’ve already been washed by Christ? Second, do you turn to Him, seeking the realignment, the foot-washing that only He can provide?

Things to consider…

PS: This was written in 11/27/2008. My wife and I caved and got the pug a month after writing this. But I waited until Christmas of 2010 before I finally got that iphone. 😉

Posted on November 27, 2008, in Christian Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for this post, Joe. I feel much the same way you do. I’ve heard many people advise it, and I need to heed that advice–we need to preach the Gospel to ourselves just as much as anyone else.

    As for the chiropractor, if you get your back cracked it feels amazing. I had to go a few years back for a few weeks because I injured my back. But wow, that release of pressure just feels so good.

Leave a Reply

