A Little Atheism is Good for the Soul (Part 1 of 2)

Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and Daniel Dennett

As someone who’s committed my life to the field of Christian apologetics, I’ve made it a habit to consistently expose myself to the writings of leading atheists. Now here’s a confession I need to make about reading material defending atheism…it can be a truly taxing practice. Why is this? Because I’m a Christian and I truly believe the Bible is the loving revelation of God to His people. Defending the faith isn’t merely a matter of handling and refuting intellectual abstractions. We’re talking about a person, Yahweh.

Think about it this way: imagine someone you knew started to launch out on a full-scale public assault on the character of your mother (or some other close family relative). Would you consider the defense of your Mother’s identity and character a mere intellectual exercise? Probably not. In the same way, when people doubt my God’s existence, plan, or justice, it unnerves me. I love my God, He saved me, He gave me His Holy Spirit, He has restored purpose and beauty and hope in my life. For that I am eternally thankful.

Therefore, any venom-filled attack against my God and His people (the Church) hurts and upsets me. So reading a sustained atheistic tract can be taxing, but it’s not without it’s benefits.

Next we’ll quickly list some of the benefits of studying atheism and recommend a few introductory books on the subject…

Posted on August 5, 2007, in Applied Apologetics, Atheism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

